People | Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology | Virginia Tech

ICAT Staff

ICAT Founding Director Ben Knapp
Ben Knapp
Founding Director
benknapp@vt.edu | 540-231-1911

Ben Knapp | Founding Director

benknapp@vt.edu | 540-231-1911

R. Benjamin Knapp is the Founding Director of the Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology (ICAT) and Professor of Computer Science at Virginia Tech. ICAT seeks to promote research and education at the boundaries between art, design, engineering, and science. Dr. Knapp also leads the Music, Sensors, and Emotion research group, with researchers in the UK and the US.

For more than 20 years, Dr. Knapp has been working to create meaningful links between human-computer interaction, universal design, and various forms of creativity. His research on human-computer interaction has focused on the development and design of user-interfaces and software that allow both composers and performers to augment the physical control of a musical instrument with direct sensory interaction. He holds twelve patents and is the co-inventor of the BioMuse system, which enables artists to use gesture, cognition, and emotional state to interact with audio and video media.

In previous positions, Dr. Knapp has served as a Fulbright Senior Specialist at University College, Dublin, and chief technology officer of the Technology Research for Independent Living Centre. As the director of technology at MOTO Development Group in San Francisco, Calif., he managed teams of engineers and designers developing human-computer interaction systems for companies such as Sony, Microsoft, and Logitech. He co-founded BioControl Systems, a company that develops mobile bioelectric measurement devices for artistic interaction. Dr. Knapp has also served as professor and chair of the Department of Computer, Information, and Systems Engineering at San Jose State University.

He earned a doctorate and master’s degrees in electrical engineering from Stanford University and a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from North Carolina State University. Dr. Knapp has been a PI in several pan-European projects including, CAPSIL (Common Awareness and Knowledge Platform for Studying and Enabling Independent Living) and SIEMPRE (Social Interaction and Entrainment Using Music Performance) and coordinated the EU project, BRAID (Bridging Research in Ageing and ICT Development).

Tom Martin
Associate Director
tlmartin@vt.edu
George Hardebeck
Facility and Studio Manager, Creativity and Innovation District
hardebeck@vt.edu
Lisa Jansen
Grants Specialist
ljansen@vt.edu | 540-231-5163
Phyllis Newbill
Outreach and Engagement Coordinator
pnewbill@vt.edu | 540-231-1319
Dylan Parker
Graphic Designer and Web Developer
dhparker@vt.edu
Daniel Pillis
Research Assistant Professor of Immersive Environments
dpillis@vt.edu
Tanner Upthegrove
Media Engineer
upty@vt.edu | 540-231-5555
Holly Williams
Assistant Director of Administrative Operations
hmccall@vt.edu | 540-231-0802
Melissa Wyers
Fiscal Coordinator and Administrative Assistant
mwyers68@vt.edu | 540-231-1318

Senior Fellows

Ivica Ico Bukvic
Ivica Ico Bukvic
Associate Professor, School of Performing Arts
mailto:ico@vt.edu
Chris Williams
Christopher Williams
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
cbwilliams@vt.edu
Matthew Wisnioski
Matthew Wisnioski
Associate Professor, Science and Technology in Society
mwisnios@vt.edu
Tim Baird
Tim Baird
Associate Professor, Department of Geography
tbaird8@vt.edu
Aisling Kelliher
Aisling Kelliher
Associate Professor, Computer Science
aislingk@vt.edu
Susan Duncan
Susan Duncan
Professor, CALS Research
duncans@vt.edu
Lisa McNair
Lisa McNair
Director of the Center for Research in SEAD Education
lmcnair@vt.edu
Doug Bowman
Professor, Computer Science
dbowman@vt.edu
Akshay Sharma
Akshay Sharma
Associate Professor, School of Architecture and Design
akshay@vt.edu

Fellows

Eric Lyon
Eric Lyon
Associate Professor of Practice, School of Performing Arts
ericlyon@vt.edu


Charles Nichols
Asst Professor, School of Performing Arts
csnii@vt.edu


Aki Ishida
Assistant Professor, School of Architecture and Design
aishida@vt.edu


Denis Gracanin
Associate Professor, Computer Science
gracanin@vt.edu


Joe Wheeler
Associate Professor, School of Architecture and Design
joewheel@vt.edu


Thomas Tucker
Associate Professor, School of Visual Arts


Paola Zellner
Assistant Professor, School of Architecture and Design
pazb@vt.edu


Joycelyn Wilson
Assistant Professor, School of Education
drjoyce@vt.edu | 540-231-0399


Todd Ogle
Sr. Associate Director, Applied Research and Planning
jogle@vt.edu


Deborah Tatar
Associate Professor, Computer Science
dtatar@vt.edu


Manisha Sharma
Visiting Asst Professor, Sociology
maneesha@vt.edu


Susan Magliaro
Professor, Educational Psychology
sumags@vt.edu


Brook Kennedy
Associate Professor, School of Architecture and Design
brook.kennedy@vt.edu


James D. Ivory
Associate Professor, Communication
jivory@vt.edu


Steve Harrison
Research Scientist, Computer Science
srh@vt.edu


Nicholas F. Polys
Director Visualization, Research & Cluster Computing
npolys@vt.edu


Sam Blanchard
Assistant Professor, School of Visual Arts SOVA
sam1@vt.edu


Kurt Luther
Assistant Professor of Computer Science, College of Engineering
kluther@vt.edu

Faculty Affiliates


Steve Sheetz
Associate Professor, Accounting & Information Systems


Ed Fox
Professor, Computer Science


Susan Duncan
Professor, Food Science and Technology


Kirk Cameron
Professor, Computer Science


David Lally
Academic and Student Support Advisor, Department of Biochemistry


Angela Scarpa-Friedman
Associate Professor, Psychology


Max Stephenson
Professor, UAP and Director, Institute for Policy and Governance


Eric Standley
Associate Professor, School of Visual Arts


Matt Wagner
Assistant Professor, School of Architecture and Design


Ali Butt
Associate Professor, Computer Science


Ariana Wyatt
Visiting Assistant Professor, School of Performing Arts


Glenda Gillaspy
Professor, Biochemistry


Dan Gallagher
Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering


Bob Leonard
Professor, School of Performing Arts


Martha Ann Bell
Professor, Psychology


Carlos Evia
Associate Professor, Director of Professional Writing


Andy Morikawa
Fellow, Institute for Policy and Governance

Jim Jones
Jim Jones
Professor, College of Architecture and Urban Studies

Bess Pierce
Bess Pierce
Associate Professor, Small Animal Clinical Sciences

Billie LepczykBillie Lepczyk
Professor, School of Performing Arts

Katherine CennamoKatherine Cennamo
Professor and Department Chair, School of Education

Phyllis NewbillPhyllis Newbill
Studio Associate

Students

Lucas FreemanLucas Freeman

Huy NgoHuy Ngo

Amanda RedhouseAmanda Redhouse

Disha SardanaDisha Sardana

Reza TasoojiReza Tasooji
Computer Science

Kyriakos TsoukalasKyriakos Tsoukalas

Run Yu
Computer Science